Thursday, April 4, 2013

Olympic's Ty Baumgardner wins N.C. Associated Press coach of the year award

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) – Two men who led their teams to undefeated seasons and Class 4-A championships are The Associated Press prep basketball coaches of the year in North Carolina.

Ty Baumgardner of Charlotte Olympic won the 2012-13 men's award Thursday and Chris East of Raleigh Millbrook earned the women's award.

Baumgardner received 15 of a possible 22 votes from sports writers across the state. Newton Foard's Rob Bliss was second with four votes after turning around a program that was 5-41 before his arrival two seasons ago, while first-year coach Perry Tyndall of 2-A champ Kinston was the only other coach listed on multiple ballots.

On the women's side, East had 10 votes to five for Kinston's Hubert Quinerly, a second-year coach whose team won a 2-A title in its first finals appearance.

Winners of The Associated Press prep basketball coach of the year award for North Carolina:
2013–Ty Baumgardner, Charlotte Olympic
2012–Kirk Angel, New Hanover County
2011–Ron Bray, Gastonia Huss
2010–Brandon Jolly, Lake Norman
2009–Aubrey Hollifield, Shelby
2008–Wells Gulledge, Kinston
2007–George Robinson, Burlington Cummings
2006–David Price, Greensboro Dudley
2005–Jimmy Cleaveland, Canton Pisgah
2004–Tim Kelly, Trinity
2003–Mike Gurley, West Rowan
2002–Mike Gurley, West Rowan
2001–Don Corry, Lexington
2000–Howard West, Winston-Salem Reynolds
1999–Mike Pennington, Winston-Salem Parkland
1998–Terry Rogers, Morganton Freedom
1997–Ray Hartsfield, East Chapel Hill
1996–Greg Grantham, Jacksonville White Oak
1995–Bill Boyette, Cary
2013–Chris East, Raleigh Millbrook
2012–Anthony Jones, Charlotte Harding
2011–Jessica Bryan, Southwest Guilford
2010–Brian Robinson, Kernersville McGuinness
2009–Terry Allmon, East Davidson
2008–Angela Morton, Concord
2007–Brent Barker, Hope Mills South View
2006–Debra Pegram, Wilson Beddingfield
2005–Sandra Langley, SouthWest Edgecombe
2004–Jennifer Shoaf, Salisbury
2003–Tracie Taylor, Fayetteville 71st
2002–Jamie Smith, Morganton Freedom
2001–Gerald Carter, Winston-Salem Carver; Kenny Carter, High Point Central (tie)
2000–Gerald Carter, Winston-Salem Carver
1999–David Elder, Hickory
1998–Julie Hunter, Clinton Union
1997–Kenny Carter, High Point Central
1996–Sandra Langley, SouthWest Edgecombe
1995–Marsha Crump, Morganton Freedom